Yes, I’ve Been Sucked In

images-5 Well, I started the new year off by reading the third book in the Twilight series. As much as every part of my being wants to reject these books, I can’t stop reading them. I stayed up until 1:30 in the morning reading this one. Why? I can’t really say. I knew what was going to happen, there were no unexpected twists. The plot is predictable, Bella is one of the most annoying characters I have ever encountered (can she get any weepier?), and yet, I had to stay up and read until the end. I am Team Edward, if anyone is counting. All I have to say is if she doesn’t become a vampire in Breaking Dawn, I will be really upset that I have wasted my time on all this vampire/werewolf nonsense.

As an English teacher, I constantly am making students read books that I find captivating. So when my students all started telling me I had to read these books, I thought, okay, I’ll give it a try. I was resistant, I still am resistant. Vampires, werewolves, not exactly Charles Dickens is it? I do not feel in any way this is quality literature. Yet high school students (and many adults as well) are devouring these books. What is the attraction? Forbidden love? A dashingly handsome, albeit deathly vampire, who swoops in to rescue the girl? Escapism? I’m not sure what it is, but I too have been bitten by the Twilight bug.

Leave a Reply

