Sunday Salon

tssbadge1A snowy Sunday led to a perfect Sunday Salon. Today I finished Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (see post below) and am currently about halfway through Geraldine Brooks’ People of the Book. I am enjoying that one to an extent. The novel begins in the present day when Hannah, a book conservator, is called to Sarajevo to study and preserve a rare Jewish Haggadah. As Hannah uncovers some clues as to where the Haggadah has been, the story jumps back in time and introduces the reader to several other characters and the role the Haggadah played in their lives. I am enjoying the sections which go back in time and tell the tale of the Haggadah’s history, but I really don’t care for Hannah or her story. I find her sections to be tedious and just want to get onto the next story.

On my TBR list I have The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller and Pretties by Scott Westerfeld.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Once you get into the story and past Hannah’s section it gets much better. Hannah is annoying though and I almost gave up as well, but it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

