The Wait is Over

images-12 I will admit it; I enjoy reading books that are part of a series. When I find an author I like, I tend to read all I can by him/her. I have been searching for a a good series for a while now. A few months ago I caught wind of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City series and have been on the search for the first book ever since. Today my school librarian delivered.

From the back cover: Through the lovelorn tenants of a San Francisco apartment house, Maupin takes the teader into a brave new world of laundromat Lotharios, cutthroat debutantes, and Jockey shorts dance contests. Hurdling barriers both social and sexual, this cunningly observed comedy- and the five novels which succeed it- offer an unprecedented portrait of the agonies and absurdities of urban life in the last quarter of the 20th century.

Six novels altogether! Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you! Please don’t let me down.

Has anyone read this series? Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “The Wait is Over

  1. i devoured this series while in grad school… kind of like a soap opera, but you will quickly be wrapped up in these characters lives and you will not be able to stop. he just published a 7th novel called michael tolliver lives… i hope you enjoy it! oh, piece of trivia about the series… first work of fiction to ever write about the AIDS crisis. i think it is book 4??

Leave a Reply

