Juggling Too Many Books

Currently I am juggling four different books: Pretties by Scott Westerfeld, The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller, Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin and Their Eyes Were Watching God (reading with my seniors for the ninth time) by Zora Neale Hurston. My problem is I can’t seem to stick with one of them and just finish it. Do others of you have this problem? Another book falls into your hands and you just have to start reading it, only to put down the one you were currently reading. How do you deal with this problem? My nightstand is stacked with abandoned reads, ones I know I will probably never go back and finish and others I have all good intentions of finishing at some point. Obviously, when I get a book I just love, I devour it and read it in a day or two, but others seem to take way too long. Is this a sign of my not seeing things through to the end? I also must confess that I always read the last page of a book before I finish it. So in a way, I do see it through to the end, I just sometimes skip the middle part. What does this say about me?

Leave a Reply

