Monday’s Musing

musingmondaysbigToday’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about book stores…

How do you choose what do buy from your local bookstore? Do you have a list, or just browse? What is the selection in your book store like? Do you find what you’re looking for? Do you feel pressured to buy the kind of books the store makes prominent? (question courtesy of MizB)

My situation is different than some because I am lucky enough to hold a part-time job at a wonderfully charming independently owned bookstore. So, I never feel rushed or forced into a choice. Some days I go into work with books in mind that were recommended to me either through the world of blogging or from a friend. Other times, I just wander the store and look for what strikes me. The days when I have the honor of opening up a box of new arrivals remind me of Christmas day. I get so excited to find a copy of book I have been anticipating or better yet, a book I wasn’t expecting but seems to just be screaming my name. Sometimes I peruse our shelves of Advanced Reader Copies and look for titles or covers which grab my attention. Customers also offer suggestions, which I gladly receive. The best part it, if the book isn’t in the store, I can order it and it will be there within a week.

I only work two or three days a week at this bookstore and basically my paycheck goes right back to the store, but it is worth it!

One thought on “Monday’s Musing

Leave a Reply

