Weekly Geek: Judging a Book by Its Cover

Judge a Book By Its Cover!

This week it’s all about judging books by their covers! Pick a book–any book, really–and search out multiple book cover images for that book. They could span a decade or two (or more)…Or they could span several countries. Which cover is your favorite? Which one is your least favorite? Which one best ‘captures’ what the book is about?

My favorite book is Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God. The first time I read this book was in a college class called The Jazz Age and Harlem Renaissance. I read this copy, which shows Janie’s sexual awakening under the pear tree:

imagesI teach the novel with my AP Seniors and they read this version:

images-1I also found this version, which depicts the flood scene:

images-2And of course, the Dover edition:

images-5And then there’s the movie poster:

images-4However, my all-time favorite cover is:

images-3

I like this one mostly because it does not imprint some sort of image of Janie in my mind. It lets me create my own version of Janie. I also like the simplicity of the red and white.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Geek: Judging a Book by Its Cover

  1. I must say I like the purple and green cover due to those being favorite colors, but I’m with you on liking the last one best. This book is on my list to read this year.

  2. This is on my reading list this year and I’ve been eyeing that last one which is also your favourite.. it’s truly gorgeous! I also like the second cover, but not as much as the last one.

  3. I love this book also. Haven’t read it in a long time ans gave my copy away. Maybe I’ll find a copy of the one with the red and white cover.

Leave a Reply

