Monday’s Musing

musingmondaysbigToday’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about the library…

How often do you visit the library? Do you have a scheduled library day/time, or do you go whenever? Do you go alone, or take people with you?

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your opinion in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks.

For me, this depends on whether it is during the school year or not.  During school, I probably visit our school library once a week or so.  I head straight for the back room and paw through all the piles of new arrivals and grab anything and everything that looks interesting.  I am way over my limit on the amount of books I can check out, but luckily my librarian doesn’t mind.  If I am looking for a particular book which we don’t have, she often gets it for me through inter-library loan.  I love our school librarian!!!  We go back to school tomorrow and I have my two advanced sophomore classes scheduled for a visit to the library to pick out a free choice read for a project we are about to begin.  I have a stack of books to return and I am looking forward to replacing them with a brand new stack.

During the summer I visit my local library probably once a week.  I can read a lot more during the summer.  My neighbors all know me as the woman who sits outside in her lawn chair reading a book and drinking an iced coffee.  I easily read a book a day in this manner.  I would love to start a book group for high school students at my local library and will have to look into this for the summer.

Since I have started working at the bookstore, I find that I am not using the library as much as I used to.  However, I do realize the economic value of the library and need to remember that, but sometimes I know that the book is one I will want to keep and thus, my paycheck goes right back to the store.

12 thoughts on “Monday’s Musing

  1. haha, isn’t it fun when you get a nickname that starts with “that lady who…” – I think I have a couple of them myself.

    I love the idea of the library book club for high school students, as well as having course content assignments up on wikis. Hope you don’t mind, but I’ve bookmarked it to come back to tomorrow (when I’m actually awake) to have a closer look at.

  2. thats funny, my neighbors know me as the girl outside with a book and a glass of sweet tea! and I understand what you mean, i am really close with my librarian because I have no money to go to the bookstore

  3. I loved my school library. The librarians were wonderful and they always help out bookworms like us. Isn’t summer reading simply the best?

  4. Hi!
    Sounds like you have a great system for using your library. I’m with you, if I worked at a book store my check would all go for books!! Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

Leave a Reply

