Booking Through Thursday

btt2We’ve all seen the lists, we’ve all thought, “I should really read that someday,” but for all of us, there are still books on “The List” that we haven’t actually gotten around to reading. Even though we know they’re fabulous. Even though we know that we’ll like them. Or that we’ll learn from them. Or just that they’re supposed to be worthy. We just … haven’t gotten around to them yet.

What’s the best book that YOU haven’t read yet?

For a long time, the answer to this question was Crime and Punishment, but I did finally tackle that one last year with a group of my AP seniors. Those Russian authors, though, they are my nemesis.  Every summer I tell myself, “This will be the summer I read Anna  Karenina,” and every summer I get about 100 pages into it before I abandon it.  I know I SHOULD read this one, everyone who has read it (and that’s not a whole lot of people, mind you) tells me how much they loved it, hell, even Oprah used it for her book club,  but I just can’t get through it.  Who knows…. maybe this summer.

pevear_karenina


5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Crime and Punishment! I didn’t think of that one. I may have read it in high school, though… I forget. I did read Anna Karenina in high school, but I want to read it again. I quite imagine I will have a different take on it as an adult and mother.

Leave a Reply

