Booking Through Thursday

btt2What book do you think should be made into a movie? And do you have any suggestions for the producers?

Or, What book do you think should NEVER be made into a movie?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

My students always ask me if The Catcher in the Rye has been made into a movie. Lord, I hope nobody every attempts that one. The beauty of that book is Holden’s stream of consciousness, you can’t capture that in a movie. It would be a travesty if somebody did so.

As far as what book should become a movie, I am unsure….. I think if they combined the plots of Uglies, Pretties and Specials they could probably make a pretty cool movie. That is one I would like to see done because there could be so many cool special effects. I also think it would be successful as a movie and might get more people to check out the books.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I’ve never read those books before, but I’ve heard a lot about them, and it might be an interesting movie idea! I’ve always wanted to give those books a try.

  2. You’re definitely right about Catcher in the Rye. Others must agree with you, because it’s been a literary classic for a couple of generations now and no one’s made it into a film. I’m not sure if all that’s preventing it is Salinger’s refusal to sell the rights or if no one really wants to try. But I’m with you. Let’s hope they don’t.

    Here’s my response to BTT: http://yourlibrarycard.blogspot.com/2009/03/at-movies-with-books-this-weeks-btt.html

Leave a Reply

