Monday’s Musing: Talking to Strangers

musingmondaysbig

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about talking to strangers…
We were all warned as children to ‘never talk to strangers’, but how do you feel about book-talk with random people? When you see people reading, do you ask what it is? Do you talk to people in the book store or the library? Why or why not? What do you do if people talk to you? (question courtesy of Dena)

Well, seeing as I work in a high school and a bookstore, yes, I talk to people/strangers about books.  In fact, I am paid to do just that.  I try and gauge a person’s interest by asking them just a few questions about the last book they really enjoyed.  I also watch what people buy. If they purchase a stack of books and some are ones I have read enjoyed, I look at the other titles they are buying and make a mental note.  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE talking to people about books and am always open to a suggestion and feel quite satisfied with myself when I know I have made the right recommendation for a person.

If I see someone reading, I usually don’t start a conversation.  I don’t really like when someone interrupts my reading, why should I do that to someone else?  Plus, I don’t like to put someone on the spot in that manner.  I hate when someone does that to me and either asks me my opinion on something I haven’t quite formulated yet or worse, they ruin something major for me.  Usually, I just check out what book they are reading and form my own silent opinions about them based on their choice.

2 thoughts on “Monday’s Musing: Talking to Strangers

  1. Oooohh…thanks for the tip about checking out people’s book piles and if you like what they chose, then maybe you’ll like some of the ones you haven’t heard of. I wish I worked at a book store — it would be fun! And I know what you mean about the satisfaction that comes with recommending the perfect book for someone!

  2. I love it when the bookstore employee mentions that she loved a book I am buying. 🙂 I’ve been asked while browsing in the bookstore for my recommendation, and I don’t mind sharing a few. I do the same as you–try to guage what the reader is interested in. And I don’t even work in the bookstore! Haha

Leave a Reply

