Bookin’ Through Thursday: Worst Book You’ve Ever Read

btt2

Suggested by Janet:

How about, “What’s the worst ‘best’ book you’ve ever read — the one everyone says is so great, but you can’t figure out why?”

I have two answers for this one and both were read in college.  One is Moby Dick.  While I appreciate the themes of this book, I did not appreciate reading this one in any way, shape or form.  The other one is Clarissa by Samuel Richardson.  Holy Cow!  This book was as big as a Norton Anthology, with those tissue thin pages and it was written all in letters.  If I remember correctly, the first 500 or so pages lead up to the rape of Clarissa and then the following 500 pages show the aftermath of a woman whose virtue is forever tainted.  That book was painful to both carry to class every day and to read.

2 thoughts on “Bookin’ Through Thursday: Worst Book You’ve Ever Read

  1. The worst book I ever read – “How Starbucks Saved My Life”. I thought it was terrible, and could not even make it through to the end – and that rarely ever happens to me.

Leave a Reply

