Monday’s Musing

musingmondaysbigoday’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about bookstores…

How many bookstores do you frequent? Do you have a favourite? If so, which one and what makes it so?
Well, for those of you who know me, you know I work part-time at a bookstore (when I’m not teaching) and so it goes without saying. Devaney, Doak and Garrett is my favorite bookstore. Actually, even if I didn’t work there I would say that. I met the owner because I order all my classroom books through DDG. He offers teachers a considerable discount and works closely with schools in the community, encouraging young readers.  The store is small and cluttered (think stacks and stacks of books EVERYWHERE), but it is cozy and the friendly staff will order you any book you can’t find in the store.
I also can’t not mention Powell’s. I think what I miss the most about living in Portland is spending a day at Powell’s. An entire city block full of books. Really, who can ask for more? Oh, how I miss Powell’s.
2 thoughts on “Monday’s Musing

Leave a Reply

