The Principles of Uncertainty by Maira Kalman

principles

From the inside flap:

“What is this book?  What is anything?  Who am I?  Who are you?  Stop it.  Forget it.  This is a year in my life.  Profusely illustrated.  Abounding with anguish, confusion, bits of wisdom.  Musings, meanderings, buckets of joie de vivre and restuful soujourns.”

I am not sure how to describe this book.  Visually, it was one of the most enjoyable books I have read in a long time.  Each page is filled with the author’s artwork and her thoughts/observations of the world and life itself, simple and yet profound at the same time.

I liked this book and would recommend that you check it out.  It is quirky, beautiful and with each turn of the page I felt more and more joy.  The author just chronicles a year in her life with tidbits of wisdom, illustrations of objects which hold a particular importance to her, and snippets of seemingly insignificant moments which are actually very telling. There was a section of photographs which I felt disrupted the flow, but actually liked the sequence of pictures taken from behind people.  All views of people walking away from the photographer.  To me it just seemed out of place within the book, but was still kind of cool to see.

The book inspired me to create my own journal of life observations.  How I wish I had some artistic talent!

I will leave you with some images from the book:

kalman3

maira3kalman13

One thought on “The Principles of Uncertainty by Maira Kalman

  1. Oh, wow, thanks for introducing me to this amazing artist! I was just looking at her page on the New York Times website, and I absolutely love her illustrations. So beautiful. (I wish I could draw.)

Leave a Reply

