Teen Book Group

On Friday I asked my boss at the bookstore about starting a teen reading group for the summer and he gave me the go ahead. I am so excited to get this project up and running. I can’t wait to talk about books with kids without being the teacher in the room. Our plan is to have our first meeting on the 19th to discuss titles for the summer.  I will keep you posted on what the summer reading choices are and perhaps you may read it as well.

The other idea we talked about was having some of our younger readers write reviews for books that we could post in the store.  Right now we have lots of staff recommendations around the store, but how cool would it be for a kid to come into the store and see their own recommendation posted or have one of their friends buy a book because of their review.   I am pleased to help make this push for literacy in the community.  It can only be a good thing, right?